Skip to content

A Little Vision

August 22, 2011
Anabaptist Dirk Willems rescues his pursuer an...

Where there is no vision, the people perish: but he that keepeth the law, happy is he.

A little bit of vision goes a very long way. Jesus tells us that those of us that have will be given more. I believe this applies to the area of vision as well. If we have a vision, then God will strengthen it, and it will flourish. Likewise, our Lord tells us that those who have not, even what they do have will be taken away. And so, as Solomon says in Proverbs, if we do not have a vision for God’s kingdom, we perish.

So what is your vision?

For the early Anabaptists, the vision started out small. A few believers gathered together with the vision of studying God’s Word to see what they were missing. With God’s help, this vision prospered. This vision led to the baptisms of 1525, and quickly spread all across Switzerland. By the 1530’s, thousands across the country followed the vision started by Grebel, Manz, and Blaurock. How quickly, and how wonderfully the Holy Ghost can work. What great things can our God do if he finds someone with vision?

This blog is about my vision, I vision I truly believe comes from the Lord. I want to share with you all the amazing things that my God has done. I want to be a willing servant, doing the things that God leads me to.

For me the vision started small. What if? But when things happen, then the vision grows. God giveth the increase

And things did certainly happen, without me looking for them.

God opened doors for me. Through ways I cannot even begin to understand, he put me in contact with a wonderful family that shares my vision. A Swiss family. A family from the very place that our ancestors come from, where the people have names like Stutzmann, Joder, Müller, Graber, Bütschi, Kaufmann, and of course Bähler. A family that holds a deep love for the Anabaptists, and for years has been seeking after our ways. Through this family, God seems to have opened the doors for me to travel to this far away land, to live and work there and, most of all, to share with hischildren there.

So will I actually go? I do not know. A lot remains to be seen, I am by no means guaranteed a job, and there certainly is no guarantee that the Canton of Bern will grant me the papers to stay for a long period. Whatever does happen, however, I am certain that it will be God’s will.

 

From → Vision

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

